NEWFOUNDLAND'S PREMIER PUBLISHER SINCE 1973

$19.95

ISBN: 9781897174487

Availability: 999998

Following in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe and Oscar Wilde, St. John's author Mike Heffernan has created an anthology of uniquely east-coast fiction: twisted, macabre, eery and compelling. The fourteen stories include work by such award-winning writers as Michael Crummey, Ramona Dearing, Jo-Anne Soper-Cook and many others. The foreword has been written by another award-winning Newfoundland writer - Kathleen Winter. Hard Ol' Spot is full of visceral imagery. Readers will be confronted by immigrant strangers in lonesome towns, and a suburb where rape is a girl's first romance. These are stories of lost dreams, oceans that can swallow a man whole, and tales where personal sorrow is whipped by the wind until it becomes bitter and bloody. For anyone who likes their literature written with a ragged quill pen, a messy inkpot, and a sinister edge, Hard Ol' Spot brings us the dark beauty of Atlantic-Canadian fiction.

  • Title Hard Ol' Spot
  • Author Name Mike Heffernan
  • Product Type Paperback

Following in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe and Oscar Wilde, St. John's author Mike Heffernan has created an anthology of uniquely east-coast fiction: twisted, macabre, eery and compelling. The fourteen stories include work by such award-winning writers as Michael Crummey, Ramona Dearing, Jo-Anne Soper-Cook and many others. The foreword has been written by another award-winning Newfoundland writer - Kathleen Winter. Hard Ol' Spot is full of visceral imagery. Readers will be confronted by immigrant strangers in lonesome towns, and a suburb where rape is a girl's first romance. These are stories of lost dreams, oceans that can swallow a man whole, and tales where personal sorrow is whipped by the wind until it becomes bitter and bloody. For anyone who likes their literature written with a ragged quill pen, a messy inkpot, and a sinister edge, Hard Ol' Spot brings us the dark beauty of Atlantic-Canadian fiction.

Mike Heffernan was born and raised in St. John's, Newfoundland. His most recent work has appeared in Riddle Fence, Our Times and performed on CBC Radio. The Other Side of Midnight: Taxi Cab Stories is the follow-up to the national bestseller Rig: An Oral History of the Ocean Ranger Disaster, which was adapted for the stage by Rising Tide Theatre.

ISBN:  9781897174487

Item Publish Date: 2009 / 08 / 24

Measurements: 8.5 in X 5.5 in X 0.26 in

Weight: 0.4 kg

Page Count: 200

Translation missing: en.general.search.loading